Nevada DUI Laws
The State of Nevada prohibits driving under the influence. If you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or above and are 21 and a non-commercial driver, you are considered to be an impaired driver according to Nevada DUI laws. At the same time, if you are a commercial driver and are 21 years of age or older, you will be considered impaired at 0.04 percent. Lastly, if you are under the age of 21 and have a BAC level of 0.02 percent or higher, you are considered legally drunk, per drunk driving laws in Nevada.
Illegal Per Se Law
This law, of Two DUI Laws, simply means that any motorists driving with a BAC at or above the legal limit is an offense in and of itself. However, these limits are only guidelines for officers. Drivers can still be arrested and convicted of a DUI with a lower BAC reading due to an officer's judgment or if the motorist is driving under the influence of a controlled or prohibited substance, such as marijuana.
Implied Consent Law
When you are pulled over due to suspicion of drunk driving, you are not allowed to refuse testing the officer is required to have you undergo! Whoever the driver of the vehicle is automatically is deemed to have given consent to breath, blood, or chemical testing. Any motorist who refuses to do so is under grounds for arrest. The arresting officer or other members of law enforcement are also given permission at this time to use reasonable force to obtain blood samples.
Receiving a DUI in Nevada, and all across the nation, is a serious offense. Due to the amount of harm that driving under the influence can cause, violators have to suffer the consequences, including what seems as a loss of personal freedom. Below, is what can happen when you break drunk driving laws and have DUI charges in Nevada.
If you are a first-time offender, you may face up to six months in jail or will need to serve up to 96 hours of community service. While working on your community service hours, you will be required to wear distinctive clothing that will identify you as a violator of drunk driving laws as part of your sentence. As a first-time offender of the DUI laws, you are also subject to pay a fine ranging between $400 and $1,000 dollars on top of your Fee for the Nevada DUI program. Additionally, your driving privileges are subject to be revoked for a period of 90 days. If you happen to be a first-time offender with a blood alcohol content of 0.18 or higher, you will be placed in an alcohol treatment facility for up to one year.
Motorists who are convicted of a DUI for a second time within a seven-year period from the first offense will face up to six months in jail or six months of house arrest. Second-time offenders will also be required to pay between $750 and $1,000 or serve an equivalent number of hours of community service while dressed in the identifying DUI laws violator clothing. Drivers who are convicted of a DUI this second time are also subject to having their driver's license revoked for one year as well as being placed in an alcohol treatment facility for up to one year's time.
If you did not learn your lesson after the first two DUI citations and committed a third DUI offense within a seven year's time, you face up to six years in prison and will be required to pay between $2,000 and $5,000. Additionally, your driver's license will be revoked for three years.
DUI with Cause of Death/Serious Injury
Furthermore, if you were convicted of a DUI that was either the cause of death or serious injury, you will suffer harsher consequences, including, but not limited to:
- Revocation of driver's license for three years
- Sentenced to prison between 2 and 20 years
- Fine between $2,000 and $5,000
How Online DUI School Can Help
If you have DUI charges for any of the above, you may be allotted the chance to take an online DUI School as part of your sentence or plea bargain. Online DUI Schools offer you the chance to possibly help reduce the severity of your sentence. However, this is at the discretion of the court or judge. If you recently received your DUI charges and are unaware if you are able to partake in an online DUI School, please contact the issuing Nevada courthouse or a DUI attorney.